Blooming Heart – TSENG Feng-Li’s Exhibition

2016⋅09⋅03—10⋅02

Hong-Gah Museum and Taiwanese Yueqin Folk Song Association are both grassroots partners in Beitou. In 2016, Taiwan Yueqin Folk Song Festival has invited artist Ms. TSENG Feng-Li to paint brilliant landscapes on the humble Yueqins, and throws a Yueqin Painting Installation Exhibition at Beitou Hot Spring Museum, while Hong-Gah Museum exhibits the graphic works of Ms. TSENG simultaneously.

Ms. TSENG Feng-Li (1930-), like the most Taiwanese traditional women, has devoted her entire life in nurturing her children and children’s children. And, like many grandmas do, she nags and worries, and is a loyal fan for Taiwanese TV series. As her children grew up and left home one after another, her energy faded away with them. She was further depressed by injuring her right arm due to a fall at a midnight years ago. For regaining her pleasure in life, her children encouraged her to pick up brushes and paint. Perhaps it is in her nature, Ms.TSENG paints better and better. Now there are even traveling exhibitions of her works, which rejuvenises her advanced life.

Her artworks put audience in a field with gentle breeze, seeing lovely birds perching on branches or in between flowers; some chirp while other chatter. She employs bright, vivid colors and child-like touch to bring life to the flowers, birds, and butterflies in her works as if they were to fly out, and from which radiates the splendor within her.

American female artist Anna Mary Robertson MOSES, a model of self-taught, late bloomer, once said, “Do what you like to do; God will open the door to success for you with delight, even when you are eighty.” Such statement is the best testimony of Feng-Li Tseng’s creation, as she is yet another courageous practitioner of “Never too late to start”.

Sponsors and Collaborators

心花開—曾鳳麗用心畫世界

2016⋅09⋅03—10⋅02

鳳甲美術館與台灣月琴民謠協會同為北投在地長期耕耘的夥伴,2016臺灣月琴民謠祭活動中邀請藝術家曾鳳麗女士在素樸的月琴上描繪燦爛萌動的景色,並於北投溫泉博物館進行月琴彩繪裝置展;鳳甲美術館亦同步展出曾女士的平面作品。

曾鳳麗女士(1930-),如同多數台灣傳統婦女,一輩子的心力都在拉拔兒孫長大;也像許多阿嬤一樣,嘮叨、愛操心、忠實收看台語連續劇。隨著兒孫長大陸續離家,失去生活重心的她漸失活力。前些年半夜一跤摔斷右手,更是使她洩氣不已。為了讓她重尋生活的樂趣,子女鼓勵她拾起畫筆。或許是天賦得以發揮,她愈畫愈好,甚至到各地巡迴展出,讓她在晚年重新煥發人生的春天。

她的作品讓人彷彿置身微風徐徐的原野,見到可愛的鳥兒或是棲息在枝頭、或是穿梭花叢間,有的啁啾、有的低語。她運用鮮豔活潑的色彩、童趣純樸的筆觸,讓生動的花、鳥、蝴蝶躍於紙上,展現出蓬勃的生命力,也綻放出屬於她靈魂的光輝。

美國女畫家安娜•瑪麗•羅伯森•摩西,常被當作自學成才、大器晚成的代表。她曾說過:「做你喜歡做的事,上帝會高興地幫你打開成功之門,哪怕你現在已經八十歲了。」這段話無疑為曾鳳麗的創作做了最好的註解,她亦是「人生永遠沒有太晚的開始」的勇敢實踐者。

贊助與合作單位