Matter of Scale: Solo Exhibition of Sheng-Wen Lo

2022⋅07⋅30—10⋅02

Hong-gah museum is proud to present the Dutch based artist Sheng-Wen Lo. Lo has a background in STEM and his works comprise video, photography, games, sound and installation. This exhibition Matter of Scale engages his research in marine ecosystem and ocean farming during his stay in the Netherlands, presenting an interdisciplinary dialogue between science, economics and visual arts. Matter of Scale congregates Lo’s two-year exploration on kelp and attempts to reflect on the burgeoning sustainable agriculture and circular economy from different perspectives.

Seaweed, which has a long history of existence and wide application in many Asian countries – kombu, kelp, sphagnum jelly, etc. – has a variety of names and corresponding methods. Yet as an emerging food, seaweed has received a lot of attention in European countries. Some fishermen think that growing seaweed does not require land, fresh water, feed and fertilizer, and the carbon emission is lower than aquaculture or fishing, making it a green, zero input industry. Some ecologists believe that growing large amounts of seaweed can effectively capture and store carbon. Vegetarians also advocate the high nutritional value of seaweed. This seaweed boom has left Lo wondering, if seaweed is as amazing as the Europeans say it is, why has not this industry been flipped over in Asian countries? Lo spent two years trying to understand how to grow seaweed and kelp in the Netherlands, as well as the official policy and position on kelp farms and coastal seaweed harvesting, in order to understand the local’s perception of seaweed. He visited seaweed farms along the Dutch coast to understand their beliefs and expectations. He also brought dried seaweed from the farmers and used it extensively making improved daily dishes from a consumer’s point of view. As his research progresses, Lo finds that there are also risks involving this seemingly fantastic kelp boom. Large-scale coastal transformation will bring changes to ecosystems, not only hindering sunlight penetration below ocean surface, but also disturbing nutrient balance, potentially causing eutrophication. Benign intentions do not always lead to happy endings.

The four-channel synchronized video in the exhibition includes Lo’s two-years of inquiry. The video narrative navigates through the physiology of kelp, people’s praise of kelp farming, expectations of carbon reduction agriculture, and the disastrous history of coastal eutrophication. The images contain the soundscapes juxtaposes mass media, voice over, and the sound of waves lapping on the shore symbolizing his questioning of these operations, and the waves seem to be a tug of war between different positions. There are also discarded fishing nets and marine waste hung in the exhibition venue, which were obtained from different local fishing associations. These dangling objects resemble kelp cultivated beneath ocean surface, long and short, dense and sparse; they exude a scent from the ocean and the pungency of the waste. During the exhibition period, these dangling symbols of kelp will continue to proliferate, and as the exhibition period progresses, they will gradually suffocate the limited space of the museum gallery and block the light from the video as well as the audience’s line of sight, making the exhibition venue increasingly uncomfortable and the works increasingly difficult to be viewed. This resonates with the title of this exhibition, everything is a matter of scale.

The idiom “guò yóu bù jí (ㄍㄨㄛˋ ㄧㄡˊ ㄅㄨˋ ㄐㄧˊ)” is used in Chinese to describe the negative consequences of doing something good. In addition to having a “timely” and “precise” connotation, the English word “just” also has another meaning, representing fairness and reasonableness. Despite deriving from different language and culture, they bear a common pursuit of balance amid all things. Seaweed and kelp farming are the new favorites in agricultural sustainability and circular economies, and while pursuing “just right”, they are also striving for expansion in scale, influencing and sculpting the intricately connected ecosystem through ebb and flow.

 

Artist Talk

Time: 19:30-21:30 Fri. 19th Aug. 2022

Venue: Lightbox Photo Library (No.19, Lane 269, Section 3, Roosevelt Road, in Taipei’s Daan District.)

 

About Sheng-Wen Lo

Born in 1987 in Kaohsiung, Taiwan, currently based in the Netherlands. He received MA in Photography from AKV|St.Joost in the Netherlands, and MSc in Computer Science from the Computer Music Lab at National Taiwan University. His works investigate the relationships between non-humans and society, attempting to spark off debate.

His recent projects include “F/EEL”, a project commissioned by the Embassy of the North Sea and presented in 2020, which is based on the anthropogenic barriers imposed on the migratory lives of European eels. The project “Extendable Ears” was presented in 2019 at the Foam Fotografiemuseum Amsterdam, the Netherlands. In the project, Lo wore an ultrasound transformer around the clock so that he can experience high frequency sounds audible to animals. The project “Down”, presented in 2017 and participated in the 2020 Taiwan Biennial of the National Taiwan Museum of Fine Arts, in which he collected goose down and made his own down jacket for a survival test in the High Arctic.

The creative projects of Sheng-wen Lo are full of imagination and experimentation, but through different forms of presentation such as video installation, photography or games, the audiences can reflect on their position as human beings in intriguing ways.

 


“Matter of Scale. Solo Exhibition of Sheng-Wen Lo” is supported by Cultural Ministry. The exhibition is hosted by Chew’s Culture Foundation, organized by Hong-gah Museum, and curated by Zoe Yeh with museum team included of Ho-Ching Fan, Daisy Li, Jing-shi Wang and interns Liang-Chu Lu, Tsai-Hsuan Lien, Pin-Hsuan Li, Hui-Zhong Kwo and Angela Tam. With on-site production by Ridge Studio, technical installation by Thousand Bird Arts, visual design by Yaode JN, and official projector supply of Optoma. Special Thanks to Tam-Sui Fisherman’s Association and Kee-lung Fisherman’s Association.

Matter of Scale 羅晟文個展

2022⋅07⋅30—10⋅02

近年旅居荷蘭、具有理工學科背景的藝術家羅晟文,作品呈現方式包含錄像、攝影、遊戲、聲響、裝置,本次將以在荷期間針對海洋生態和經濟作物的研究為主軸,呈現科學、經濟、視覺藝術的跨領域對話。Matter of Scale展覽集結藝術家歷時兩年的海帶研究,希望和觀眾一起從不同觀點反思永續農業與循環經濟的浪潮。

海藻,在亞洲許多國家的存在歷史悠久、應用廣泛,昆布、海苔、石花凍等,不同種類的海藻有多樣的名稱和食用方法,然而作為一種新興食品,海藻在歐陸國家受到許多關注,漁民認為種植海帶不需土地、淡水、飼料與化肥,為零輸入的綠色產業,碳排量也低於養魚或捕魚,有些生態學者認為大量種植海藻可有效進行碳捕集與封存,進而緩解溫室效應,素食主義者也提倡海藻的高營養價值;這陣海帶熱潮讓藝術家感到疑惑,如果海帶真如同歐洲人形容的那麼神奇,為何亞洲國家沒有因此造成產業翻轉?羅晟文花了兩年的時間試圖研究如何在荷蘭種植海藻與海帶,以及官方對海帶農場與撿拾沿岸海藻的政策與立場,想了解一般當地民眾對海藻的認知,他實際造訪荷蘭沿岸養殖海帶的農場們,想要理解這些海帶農夫的願景與期待,同時也從消費者的角度向海帶農夫購買乾燥海帶並盡可能地使用在各種改良版日常料理當中。隨著研究進展,他發現這個奇幻的海帶熱潮背後亦有其風險,大規模的沿岸開發對海岸生態將帶來變化,除了衰減海面下的陽光穿透率,也可能擾動水中養分平衡,帶來海水優養化的威脅,雖然人們從良善的立意出發,召來的卻未必是想像中的美好。

展場中的四頻道同步影像,內容集結這兩年的研究過程,羅晟文透過影像的敘事,闡述海帶的生物本質、人們對海帶養殖的讚頌、對減碳農業的期待,以及海岸優養化的災難歷史,影像聲音中夾雜的媒體新聞資訊、人聲囈語和不斷拍打上岸的海浪聲,象徵了他對這些行動的質疑與提問,一波一波的音浪彷彿不同立場之間拉扯糾結的樣貌。密布展場的還有羅晟文從不同漁會取得的廢棄漁網和海洋垃圾,這些垂吊物彷彿養殖於海平面下的海帶,有長有短、有密有疏,他們飄散著一點海洋氣味,也有一點廢棄物的刺鼻感,在展覽期間這些象徵海帶的垂吊物會持續增生,隨著展期過去逐漸佔據展場有限的空間資源、也會遮蔽自錄像的光線與觀眾的視線,展場會越來越令人感到不適,作品也會變得越來越難被觀看,呼應本檔展覽的提名,原來一切都跟規模有關。

「過猶不及」是華語世界裡用來形容事情做過了頭,即便是一件好事,也會產生負面效果的成語。在英語世界裡,用來形容及時、剛好的詞彙「Just」,也有另一層意思,代表公平的、合理的。雖然是不同的文化與語言,但是對於萬物的評斷卻有一種共同追求的平衡。海藻與海帶養殖身為永續農業與循環經濟的新寵,在追逐「恰恰好」的同時,也正追逐在規模上的擴張,隨著浪潮影響、形塑著環環相扣的生態系。

 

藝術家座談

日期:2022.08.19(五) 19:30-21:30
地點:Lightbox攝影圖書室(大安區羅斯福路三段269巷19號 )

 

關於羅晟文

1987 年出生於臺灣高雄,現居荷蘭,畢業於荷蘭AKV St. Joost 攝影所、臺大電機所。他關注非人生物與社會間的關係,並介入、試圖誘發討論。近期計畫包含2020年發表、由北海大使館委託製作、以歐洲鰻洄游途中遭遇各種人為因素阻攔的過程為發想的計畫《F/EEL》;2019年於荷蘭阿姆斯特丹Foam攝影博物館發表、全天候配戴超聲波轉換器讓自己能夠聽見動物可聽的音頻範圍的計畫《伸縮耳》;以及2017年發表並參與2020年國立台灣美術館台灣雙年展、透過撿拾鵝絨自製羽絨衣前往北極進行耐寒檢測的計畫《羽絨》等。羅晟文的創作計畫充滿想像力與實驗性,但透過影像裝置、攝影或遊戲等不同形式的呈現,讓觀眾在趣味之中反思身為人類的立場。

指導單位 | 文化部
主辦單位 | 財團法人邱再興文教基金會
執行單位 | 鳳甲美術館
策展人 | 葉佳蓉
展務執行 | 范荷青、李蝶衣、王敬希
實習製作 | 盧梁筑、連采璇、李佳融、郭慧中、李品萱、譚穎心
展場製作 | 山峸製作設計
影音技術執行 | 千鳥藝術
視覺設計 | 圖案室有限公司
指定投影 | 奧圖碼
特別感謝 | 新北市淡水區漁會、基隆區漁會、ZeeWaar B.V. Amsterdam